What is Endocrinology ?

Endocrinology is study of hormones and their normal & abnormal functions.

Endocrine system consists of 7 major endocrine glands namely – Pituitary, Thyroid, Parathyroids, Pancreas, Adrenals, Ovary & Testis. Also included in Endocrine system are Vitamin D, Bone, Fat tissue, Muscle tissue, GI tract, Pineal gland. The major hormones produced by 7 major endocrine glands are as follows:

(1) Pituitary – Growth hormone (GH), Thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH), Lutenizing hormone (LH), Prolactin, Follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), Adreno-cortico trophic hormone (ACTH), Anti-diuretic hormone (ADH)

(2) Thyroid – Triiodothyronine (T3), Tetraiodothyronine (T4)

(3) Parathyroids – Parathormone (PTH), Calcitonin

(4) Pancreas – Insulin, Glucagon, Somatostatin

(5) Adrenals – Cortisol, Aldosterone, DHEAS, Adrenaline, Nor-adrenaline

(6) Testis – Testosterone, Estrogen

(7) Ovary – Estrogen, Progesterone, Testosterone

Other glands and their hormones include:

(8) Vitamin D

(9) Pineal gland – Melatonin

(9) GI tract – GLP-1, GIP and VIP

(10) Bone – FGF-23, sclerostin

(11) Fat tissue – Leptin, Adiponectin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *